VOSH participants have volunteered thousands of hours of service to the vision care of the unfortunate. To honor those who have aided those missions, VOSH/International has created The Franklin Harms Society, named after it’s Founder, Franklin Harms. This honor recognizes those optometrists, volunteers and others who have served on 10 or more domestic or foreign VOSH mission trips.

The requirements are:
To have participated in a minimum of 10 mission trips, domestic or foreign.
To be a current member of a VOSH chapter.
Complete an application listing the missions, date, destination, name of chapter, address and email address.

A Franklin Harms Society member will be:
Honored with a personalized certificate.
Recognized at the VOSH/International Annual Meeting.
Listed on the website as having received this honor.

Be Recognized in the Franklin Harms Society

Members of the Franklin Harms Society

Jenifer Ambler, OD (ONE)
Roy F. Anderson, OD, FAAO (MN)
Rocco Andreozzi, OD (NE)
Robert Arnold, OD (KS)
Jerry Arvidson (MN)
Joni Arvidson (MN)
Cindy Bachrodt (IN)
Chris Barry, OD (NW)
Geoffrey Burns, MD (NE)
Mary Berthelot, RN (NE)
Audrey B. Blondin (CT)
Mathew Blondin, OD, FAAO (CT)
Robert (Bob) Boeding, OD (MN)
Elsa Branson (TX)
Walter Branson, FVI (TX)
Paul Caletti, OD (NW)
Christine Chmielewski RN, OD, FVI (PA)
Catherine Mauro Chickos, OD (NE)
Dale K. Cole, OD, FVI (KS)
Brent Crandon, OD (KS)
Glenda C. Denham, OD (CO)
Mitch Dobrzelewski, OD (MI)
Suzy Bamberg Eberle (SE)
Mark Ebben, OD (WI)
Bud Falkenhain, OD, FVI (MO)
Lisbeth Faulstich, OD, FAAO (NW)
Derek Feifke, OD (ONE)
Robert A. Foote, OD, FVI (MN)
Jeffrey A. Forrey, OD (NW)
Christina Fox, OD (OH)
Michael Frische, OD (IN)
Gene Frogge (NW)
John Gehrig, Esq. (SE)
Lawrence Ginsberg, OD (NE)
Jimmy Gwillim (IL)

Robin Hamm-Lavalley, OD (OH)
Linda Heath, FNO, ABOC (NW)
Jim Hess, OD, FVI (MN)
Margie Hess (MN)
Larry Hookway, OD, FVI (OH)
Gregory Kane, OD, FVI (SE)
David Krasnow, OD, MPH, MBA, FVI (CA)
Pierre Labine, CSC (Santa Cruz)
Lee Lerner, OD (ONE)
Willa K. Lieberman, MS (CA)
Herb Lippman (NW)
Michel Listenberger, OD, FVI (IN)
Derrick March (TWECS/BC)
Jeffrey C. Marshall, OD, FVI (IN)
Tracy L. Matchinski, OD, FVI (IL)
Ruth S. McAndrews, OD, FVI (IOWA)
David McPhillips, OD, FAAO, FVI (PA)
Caryl Mikrut, OD (SE)
W. Donner Mizelle, OD (IN-Honduras)
John Moats, MD (OH)
Mel Muchnik, PhD, FVI (IL)
Albert M. Nemiroff, OD, FAAO, FVI (CA)
Nancy Patterson (NW)
Edward Lee Paul, Jr., OD (NC)
Greg Pearl, OD, FVI (CA)
Arils Plaugher (OH)
Barbara Plougher, RN (OH)
Darlene A. Pohlman (OH)
James D. Pohlman, JD (OH)
C. Ellis Potter, OD, FAAO, FVI (KS)
Thomas Pruett, OD (TX)

Carole S. Rich (NW)
Edward P. Rich (NW)
Nelson Rivera, OD, FVI (SE)
Marina Roma-March, OD, FVI (TWECS/BC)
J. Rocco Robilotto, OD (NE)
Mark Rakoczy, OD (PA)
Jean Rose, (IA)
Stephen Rose, OD, FVI (IA)
Alfred A. Rosenbloom, OD (IL)
Sarah Rosenbloom (IL)
Dietrich Ruehrmund (IL)
Joan Ruehrmund (IL)
Kurt Ruehrmund (IL)
Stanley Sagara, OD (SE)
Severo Sanchez, OD (Peru)
Dale Simmons (MN)
Ann Slocum-Edmonds, OD, FVI (OR)
David R. Stacy, OD, FVI (AZ)
Dave Stockdale (NW)
Kirk R. Thomas (MN)
Christina Thompson, DMD (NE)
Harlan Vander Griend, OD (IA)
Natalie Venezia, Esq. FVI (IL)
Julie Walsh, OD (MN)
David Weigel, OD (IN)
Carl Weiss, FVI (NE)
Ellen Weiss, OD, FVI (NE)
Doug Weiss, OD, FVAO (VA)
Victoria Molnar Weiss, OD, FVAO, FVI (VA)
Laurie White, OD (KS)
Diane G. Wilson, OD (MO)
Edward M. Worthen, OD (NW)
Deborah Wright (CA)
Harry I. Zeltzer, OD, DOS, FAAO, FVI (ONE)

Updated COVID-19 and VOSH Humanitarian Clinics Advice

Due to an unprecedented surge in COVID-19 infections, a new variant that is more contagious, and these being early days in the vaccination distribution, VOSH/International DOES NOT recommend that chapters participate in domestic or international eye and vision clinics at this time.

We reiterate that at a time when the coronavirus continues to spread quickly in many parts of the world and vaccinations are not yet available to local populations, the risk of close contact with patients in a crowded outpatient environment remains high.

If a VOSH Chapter or VOSH volunteer chooses to hold a clinic against our best guidance, this is done at your own risk, by your own decision and should be in line with current local/national government rules.  VOSH/International would like to reiterate that safety for VOSH volunteers and our patients is of utmost importance and central to any decision-making process.

We have published our updated clinic guidelines with best practices to be observed in this new context.  You can download VOSH/International clinic guidelines here

Also please keep checking the following sites with official and most recent updates:

World Health Organisation: https://www.who.int/emergencies/diseases/novel-coronavirus-2019

US CDC: https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/travelers/when-to-delay-travel.html

US Government Travel Advise: https://travel.state.gov/content/travel/en/traveladvisories/COVID-19-Country-Specific-Information.html

Thank you for your patience in these unprecedented times, hard work and dedication to improving vision and eye health throughout the world.

John Daniel Twelker, OD, PhD, FAAO, FVI

President, VOSH/International

January 2021