Questions?

Contact VOSH@VOSH.ORG or contact these people with your specific inquiry (listed alphabetically):

Chapters

VOSH Chapters: Vicki Molner Weiss, OD vickiweiss@vosh.org, John Larcabal, OD larcabal@vosh.org
Student VOSH Chapters: Craig Bowen OD bowen@vosh.org, Michael Ciszek, OD ciszek@VOSH.org
International VOSH chapters: Craig Bowen OD bowen@vosh.org, Michael Ciszek, OD ciszek@VOSH.org

Communications, Press and Social Media

Emilee Nehring, OD nehring@vosh.org
Linda Shi, OD shi.linda8@gmail.com
Natalie Venezia, FVI (website) venezia@vosh.org

Executive Committee

President J. Dan Twelker, OD, PhD, FAAO, FVI twelker@vosh.org
Vice President Michael Ciszek, OD, FVI ciszek@vosh.org
Immediate Past President Tracy Matchinski, OD, FAAO, FVI matchinski@vosh.org
Treasurer Mark Rakoczy, OD rakoczy@vosh.org
Secretary Neelam Patadia, OD secretary@VOSH.org
Executive Director Maria Arce Moreira  arce@vosh.org 

Exhibits and Displays

Tracey Peterson peterson@VOSH.org

Internship Program

Emilee Nehring, OD nehring@vosh.org

Partner Liaison: AOA

Jim DeVleming, OD JDeVleming@AOA.ORG

President

J. Daniel Twelker, OD, PhD, FAAO, FVI twelker@vosh.org

Technology Transfer Program (Donate or Request Equipment)

David Stacy, OD stacy@vosh.org

Treasurer and Financial Matters

Mark Rakoczy, OD rakoczy@vosh.org

Vice President

Vice President- Michael Ciszek, OD, FVI ciszek@vosh.org

VOSH Corps, Ambassador Program (long- or short-term service education programs overseas)

VOSH Corps Greg Pearl, OD pearl@vosh.org
Ambassador Program Neelam Patadia, OD neelam.patadia@gmail.com
Mentorship Program Neelam Patadia, OD neelam.patadia@gmail.com

Updated COVID-19 and VOSH Humanitarian Clinics Advice

VOSH/International recently consulted its US and International Chapters about the feasibility and timing to restart our humanitarian clinics. While the vaccination process continues with different levels of success depending on availability and acceptance, it is evident that vaccine inequity and the availability and reliability of data in several countries are issues we need to consider.

Even if already vaccinated, our chapters are still concerned about the wellbeing of our volunteers and patients.  Some chapters, are organizing clinics locally where they are better able to comply with the existing safety requirements and respective state/country regulations.

The COVID-19 pandemic is being experienced quite differently depending on state, region, country, vaccine availability, vaccine acceptance, and the spread of SARS-COV-2 variants. Most VOSH chapters are not holding clinics or traveling internationally in 2021.

Thus, VOSH/International is slightly moderating its overall guidance against clinics and travel issued in late March 2020 and renewed in January 2021. This will be reviewed and communicated on a quarterly basis.

If a VOSH Chapter choses to hold a clinic or travel internationally, we highly recommend that the chapter performs due diligence to comply fully with the requirements established by the visited country, ensures all VOSH volunteers are aware of and follow strict safety guidelines and all existing protocols and regulations of the country, and keeps the principle of “do no harm” embedded in all its decision making. As always, the wellbeing and safety for VOSH volunteers and our patients is of utmost importance and central to any decision-making process. We have published our updated clinic guidelines with best practices to be observed in this new context. VOSH chapters in specific countries are using protocols that need to be considered as well. You can download VOSH/International clinic guidelines here.

*VOSH/International is formed by autonomous US and international chapters that are fully and only responsible for their activities, fundraising and decision-making.  VOSH/International can only provide recommendations based on our best knowledge and information at the time.

Also please keep checking the following sites with official and most recent updates:

World Health Organisation: https://www.who.int/emergencies/diseases/novel-coronavirus-2019

US CDC: https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/travelers/when-to-delay-travel.html

US Government Travel Advise: https://travel.state.gov/content/travel/en/traveladvisories/COVID-19-Country-Specific-Information.html

Thank you for your hard work and dedication to improving vision and eye health throughout the world.

John Daniel Twelker, OD, PhD, FAAO, FVI

President, VOSH/International

July 2021