Honor Your VOSH Colleagues

The HUMANITARIAN OF THE YEAR AWARD is presented at the V/I Annual Meeting to honor an individual who has distinguished him or herself during the year by bringing eye care to underserved populations. The award recognizes a VOSH member who, during the year, has improved visual welfare through leadership, invention, public health, the development of sustainable eye care and the further understanding and correction of refractive error. To nominate an individual please complete form below by May 1. The VOSH/International Humanitarian of the Year Award will be decided on or about June 1 and will be presented at the V/I Annual Meeting. (The recipient of this award is required to be present at the Annual Meeting to accept the award (or a representative in select circumstances). If the recipient cannot be present in the year for which they are nominated, then their nomination will automatically be considered for that award for the following year.)


Jordan Kassalow, OD (Vision Spring) 2018
Sandra Bury, OD (VOSH-IL) 2017
Bina Patel, OD (VOSH-NECO and VOSH-ONE) 2016
Victoria Mollner Weiss, OD (VOSH-VA) 2015
Jeffrey C Marshall, OD (VOSH-IN) 2014
Carl A. Sakovits, OD (VOSH-ONE) 2013
Fr. Pierre Labine (VOSH-SANTA CRUZ, MONTREAL) 2012
Don Kuehn, OD (VOSH-KS) 2011
Joseph D’Amico, OD (VOSH-ONE) 2010
Max Bruss (VOSH-SE) 2009
Edwin Tuhy Sr, OD* (VOSH-AZ) 2008
Alfred Rosenbloom Jr, OD* (VOSH-IL) 2007
Howard J. Charles Jr * (VOSH-ONE) 2005
Philip Richmond, OD* (VOSH-ONE) 2005
Robert* and Mrs. Shirley Merriam* (VOSH-KY) 2004


Updated COVID-19 and VOSH Humanitarian Clinics Advice

Due to an unprecedented surge in COVID-19 infections, a new variant that is more contagious, and these being early days in the vaccination distribution, VOSH/International DOES NOT recommend that chapters participate in domestic or international eye and vision clinics at this time.

We reiterate that at a time when the coronavirus continues to spread quickly in many parts of the world and vaccinations are not yet available to local populations, the risk of close contact with patients in a crowded outpatient environment remains high.

If a VOSH Chapter or VOSH volunteer chooses to hold a clinic against our best guidance, this is done at your own risk, by your own decision and should be in line with current local/national government rules.  VOSH/International would like to reiterate that safety for VOSH volunteers and our patients is of utmost importance and central to any decision-making process.

We have published our updated clinic guidelines with best practices to be observed in this new context.  You can download VOSH/International clinic guidelines here

Also please keep checking the following sites with official and most recent updates:

World Health Organisation:


US Government Travel Advise:

Thank you for your patience in these unprecedented times, hard work and dedication to improving vision and eye health throughout the world.

John Daniel Twelker, OD, PhD, FAAO, FVI

President, VOSH/International

January 2021